Get Involved!

A week ago I was in line at Fred Meyer buying dinner supplies and I saw that the November issue of Glamour came out. Though some women may think this type of magazine is foolish and promotes a bad self image of what a real woman is, I love reading it. It is the one thing I don’t feel obligated to read, and for being in college, that’s a big deal for me. As I was flipping through countless pages of ugly fashion, I came across a page that featured America Ferrera. In this well written article, America talks about her experience in India, where she went to film the documentary Half the Sky: Turning Oppression Into Opportunity for Women Worldwide. The documentary was inspired by the Chinese proverb “Women hold up half the sky.” This is also where my blog title originated from. The main thing that drew me to this article was that it had a lot to do with sex trafficking, and that is one of the reasons I started this blog, was to inform women that this is a world-wide epidemic and trafficking needs to be stopped. The trailer for the documentary is amazing and once I get my paycheck you can bet I will be purchasing it. I have also learned that it was based on a book, which I’m not sure is correct but I will be checking the city library tomorrow. I have so many thoughts and feelings about Sex Trafficking and this blog is my way to get it out there, whether people are listening or not. I highly recommend taking a look at the website for Half the Sky. http://www.halftheskymovement.org/

